Ma’s Concern, CAFAsingers & Gentle Rain (ALM-BLM) / ’63-’69

. Ma’s Concern: Pohl Soller - †, Ben Navea - †, Hector Lopez, Bim Bacaltos, Willie Nepumuceno and Sammy Santamaria, Glenn - (not in photo) CAFAsingers: Nonong Pedero, Tong Salgado, Ely Tuason, Sammy Santamaria, Dinky Einsidel, Bess & Bell, Rody Picar Gentle Rain: Nonong Pedero, Rody Picar, Noel Plana, Adi Baens Santos, Glenn Bautista

.
Ma’s Concern: Pohl Soller – †, Ben Navea – †, Hector Lopez, Bim Bacaltos, Willie Nepumuceno and Sammy Santamaria, Glenn – (not in photo)
CAFAsingers: Nonong Pedero, Tong Salgado, Ely Tuason, Sammy Santamaria, Dinky Einsidel, Bess & Bell, Rody Picar
Gentle Rain: Nonong Pedero, Rody Picar, Noel Plana, Adi Baens Santos, Glenn Bautista

.

CAFAsingers  -from ElyT

.
An Evening with Pilita – Channel 2, ’67 — with Dinky (Nathaniel Einsiedel), Neslon Rivera, Nonong (Dero Pedero), Alex Villaflor, Tong ( Arturo Salgado ), Rudy ( Rodrigo Rivera ), Ely ( Felix Tuason Jr.), Alice (Alice Bell-Rancap Bell), Tito Valbuena, Pilita Corales, Bess ( Beryl Silva), Onie ( Leon Mayo ), Sarah ( sarah Dubben-Calley), Meo (Romeo Bellesteros), Rody Picar, George Yutuc and Sammy ( Samuel Santamaria).

.

Ma's Concern . UPCFA singing group / 1963-69

.
Ma’s Concern. UPCFA singing group /1963-69:
Hector Lopez, Pohl Soller-†, Sammy Santamaria, Bim Bacaltos, Glenn Bautista, Ben Navea-† / UP Theater, Diliman, QC

*

mas concern w glenn

.
Ma’s Concern – UPCFA singing group / 1963-69 /
.

Glenn’s baby pic added – (lifted from FB commentary box): January 24 – February 6, 2011 – –
Armand Bacaltos: Bakit kaya wala si Willie?
Armand Bacaltos: ….at si Bon?
Glenn A. Bautista: Saan ito Bim? UP theater? Alala ko tuloy noong hiniram ni Ben Navea yung bago kong gitara. Pag balik sa akin maraming kotong dahil sa pagkatok sa “Richard Cory”- – tug tug tug, but i, i was in his factory, and i cursed d lyf i’m livin’ & i cursed my poverty, and i wished that i could be, Richard Cory . .haha . . .
Armand Bacaltos: D ko sigurado pero posible sa DZUP sa taas ng AS.
Glenn A. Bautista: naalala ko tuloy, d ba kumanta rin tayo sa isa pang radio station sa bandang Taft, Malate na malapit sa Phil. Christian College (PCU) @ PWU? Tawag ata sa atin ay d “Painters” o pa pa pa (standing still) . . haha.
Samuel Santamaria: nagconcert din tayo sa National Press Club. may pigsa pa si Willie sa labi kaya hindi masyado naka sound effects dahil maga
Glenn A. Bautista: Pwede pa kayang kumanta pag nagkitakits? Kompleto pa tayo sa gamit, nasa BF na lahat.
Malou Zarate-Bernardo: Bim, Nasaan na si Ben Navea?
Armand Bacaltos: @Malou: Sorry, hindi mo pala nababalitaan na pumanaw na si Ben…’08 pa.

*

. Oil Portrait by Armand "Bim" Bacaltos / Noli Garalde, Glenn Bautista, Sammy Santamaria

.
Oil Portrait by Armand “Bim” Bacaltos
Noli Garalde, Glenn Bautista, Sammy Santamaria

.

Image3

.
@ Glenn’Studio, Imus, Cavite / front: Willie, Emily, Hector, middle: Bon, Bim, Tina, back: Lorna, Annie, Peggy

.

Image4

.
@ Glenn’Studio, Imus, Cavite / Tina, Ody,
Noelle Garalde, Beth, Beybs, Glenn Bim, Noli

First click on this link, then scroll > or < to view all images:

Ma’s Concern  

*

gb n office-sml

.
1. Glenn seated in front of UPCFA office, 2. 2nd prize, UP On the Spot Painting Contest, Baguio City, 3. 1967 December – First Prize, “The U.P. Entrance” (oil), First U.P. On-the-Spot
Painting Contest, U.P. President’s
Committee on Culture, 4. Glenn’s first copied oil painting

*

by Glenn A. Bautista

What I am attempting to write now is not easy. Not easy primarily because I am now 66 years old. Not only that, I was born in 1947 in Orion, Bataan, Philippines a “meningitis baby”, was cuddled by my father in his loving arms without bringing me down for three days.

. San Jacinto Methodist Hospital,              Baytown, Texas 77521

.
San Jacinto Methodist Hospital
Baytown, Texas 77521

*

429611_10151392732207732_1607681115_n Glenn A. Bautista / November / 2012 – My Surgeon’s sketch handed to my wife, Lorna, after my surgery – – indicating 2 parts of my left and right intestines removed that resulted in an ostomy, which I thoroughly enjoy. By now, I have become an expert in managing an ostomy. I didn’t know God’s design can be improved! . . . the best surgeon I’ve ever met! Today, I read about a case whose path I seem to be following. Same stage 3-4 cancer, same chemo meds but whose cancer cells have spread to her liver, kidneys, etc. She is still alive and, by now, is on Stivarga, which seem to be a better cure for cancer, but with scary side effects too. This is the reason why in, advance, I am taking care of my liver, and later on, my other organs without hearing from my oncologists. This is my 2nd day w/o chemo pills and I am glad I paused. I am in the process of strengthening my immune system, taking IP-6, DMG, Resveratrol, Dim-Plus, etc. I have been taking Xango too which is an all-cure drink which proves to be very helpful in soreness, bruises, itchiness, and overall health. My elder brother supplies me with Xango. If you gargle xango, you’ll never have soreness in your mouth. It can even heal injuries from having taken in fish bones. It hastened the healing of my surgery, both in and out.

  • Ruby Lopez Refuerzo: Have you tried the fresh guayabano ? Look for it in the internet.
  • Fatima Crochet: Glenn, I looked up Xango and it seems that the active ingredient there is Xanthone which comes from the rind of mangosteen! And it’s the part we throw away when we eat mangosteen! Ay sus!
  • Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar: Im scared of being opened up and all but I faithfully follow you up Glenn to add my spiritual and psychic forces to the prayerful appeals of all your friends and loved ones to heaven. Keep on rollin’ and God bless us all who pray with you for a miraculous recovery. Faith binds us all! Fatima Crochet: I also looked up ostomy, ehehehe , dami ko natututunan sa yo Glenn …
  • Glenn A. Bautista: Thanks, Fats . . the feeling is mutual, ika nga.
  • Mila Yulo Cabunag: Glenn, xango is good and so is guyabano tea. heres to a better life n praise God for the chance to live again!

*

.

483606_10151415261437732_1817690180_n

.
A portion of Glenn’s most recent CT scan / Smith Clinic, Holly Hall Blvd, Houston, TX

*

.

*

. Click on the link, not the images, to view my PET Scan video.

.
. Glenn Bautista’s Monday, March 04, 2013, 1:00 PM Appointment with Smith Clinic PET/CT
(Click on the link, or active title, not the images, to view my
PET Scan video): PET Scan Video link: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151413403997732&set=vb.728647731&type=2&theater
.
Glenn’s PET Scan
– 2/ 4/ 2013 – an excerpt : This is what the PET scan reveals, even after the mother active tumor (cancer) the size a bit smaller than a golf ball was removed – by resection of the entire sigmoid colon (Nov 23, 2013) CT/CAT scan’s results had not been discussed yet.
10:04 pm friday
Glenn: I wl try to upload now my PET scan video where the doctor explains . . .
David: Oo Dad……. Is it bad? In your opinion?
Glenn: hindi naman, but it tells me visually about what may be invading me, although not sure what they really are . . inflammation, cancer cells, etc . . so to be sure I will hv more aggressive treatment like the IV chemo every three weeks aside from my chemo pills . .
10:17pm
David: Ok Dad, ok naman ang pag receive mo ng katawan mo sa chemo? (How did your body take the chemo treatment/)
Glenn: kaya naman (I can hack it), losing weight, darkening of both feet (spots) and a little on my hands, cracking (peeled off already) of d lower lip . . all wl go back to normal when finished w/ chemo . .
David Bautista: Dad, you won’t let the doctor finish his sentences. Are you sure you heard what he had to say before you interrupted him 2 times? Did you talk more after the video?
6:33am – Glenn A. Bautista: Yup, I noticed that . . yes he mentioned further about where the yellow blinks were, but that would also be addressed by the IV chemo . . . also, because of my interruptions (informing him of my past CT/CAT scan results, he showed me more infos about my other organs that may be under attack . . . I wl upload the video later . . luv u – – ps: Related reading -(anybody who can interpret this better than I can, in relation to my CT & PET scan results, can write a comment, and will greatly be appreciated)
Boy Leonardo, Rafael Villamil, Annie Mateo and 12 others like this.
Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar: More blessings as you go through the days!
March 30 at 3:25am via mobile
Felix Gonzales: The PET Scan is a lot more advance these days than the days when my Tatay had cancer (1980-1996). Now the doctor can playback everything to see every section in a person’s body. We are always praying for your healing.
March 30 at 7:19am
Mel Vera Cruz: take care glenn.
March 30 at 8:24am
Glenn A. Bautista: Thank you Tonnette, Felix and Mel and those who ‘liked’. The red to yellow scale merely indicates how metabolically active the affected/invaded areas are. The yellow ‘blinks’ like UFO’s, specifically indicate the most affected areas – higher amount of …See More
March 30 at 10:23am
Felix Gonzales: Thank you for the info and update. We continue to pray for you. Happy Easter !!!
March 30 at 5:32pm
Annie Mateo: thanks too for the info Glenn.
March 31 at 2:44am
Geoffrey Bernard William Little: Glen, my best wishes to you and can only trust things will improve for you.
– May 2 at 5:38am

.

gb blood tests

.

.

pillboxes-sml

.
Glenn’s Dietary Supplements – I used to take a lot of these dietary supplements, but recently, I have been taking less but instead get most of the nutrients I need from fruits, vegetables, some meat and vegetable powder supplement (Green Vibrance)

.

meds.

*

. Jesse and Wanda, two of my first visitors from Houston, TX. I was confined in SJ Methodist hospital in Baytown, TX - which means that they drove at least 45 minutes to pay me a visit. Thanks Jesse and Wanda. Jesse is the brother of Allen's wife, Joy - Lorna's older brother, a medical doctor in the Philippines.

.
Jesse and Wanda, two of my first visitors from Houston, TX. I was confined in SJ Methodist hospital in Baytown, TX – which means that they drove at least 45 minutes to pay me a visit. Thanks Jesse and Wanda. Jesse is the brother of Allen’s wife, Joy – Lorna’s older brother, a medical doctor in the Philippines.

.

*

. Among many others, Phuong Dao visits Glenn at San Jacinto Methodist Hospital, 4401 Garth Rd Baytown, TX 77521. (will add more photos of visitors, later)

.
Among many others, Phuong Dao visits Glenn at San Jacinto Methodist Hospital,
4401 Garth Rd Baytown, TX 77521. (will add more photos of visitors, later)

.

. Wesley Fellowship / David over Tango Video chat / San Jacinto Methodist Hospital / Baytown, TX

.
Wesley Fellowship / San Jacinto Methodist Hospital
Garth Rd., Baytown, Texas

.

. Pastor Butch "Badong" Ramirez & wife, Leree / San Jacinto Methodist Hospital, Baytown, TX

.
Pastor Butch “Badong” Ramirez & wife, Leree / San Jacinto Methodist Hospital, Baytown, TX

.

prog-uhs-mila

. Sharing with my UHS mates my recent experience regarding my health.

.
Sharing with my UHS mates (on two occasions –
Long Beach (Mila & Clyde Emerson’s place) & a restaurant
in downtown, Los Angeles) my recent experience regarding my miraculous healing.

.

945514_10151502435542732_717755244_n

.
Special Music & Testimony by Glenn
Covina Methodist Church, Covina, CA

CovinaPoster-theresaServin

.

.

. One of my memorable experiences during my visit with my UHS mates, family and friends in California (May-June 2013) was a visit from a long-time friend, Noel Plana. I call him "Boy" as most of our common friends call him. Ever as busy, he drove in from San Francisco to Los Angeles just to see me and play golf with my brother Edwin and a two other friends, Dr. Ed Lim and his brother, Manny. He stayed with us at my brother's place in La Puente, CA. Thank you so much, Noel bro. Take care, God bless.

.
One of my memorable experiences during my visit with my UHS mates, family and friends in California (May-June 2013) was a visit from a long-time friend, Noel Plana. I call him “Boy” as most of our common friends call him. Ever as busy, he drove in from San Francisco to Los Angeles just to see me and play golf with my brother Edwin and a two other friends, Dr. Ed Lim and his brother, Manny. He stayed with us at my brother’s place in La Puente, CA. Thank you so much, Noel bro. Take care, God bless.

.

*

.

 Ma’s Concern, CAFAsingers & Gentle Rain

. Ma’s Concern: Pohl Soller - †, Ben Navea - †, Hector Lopez, Bim Bacaltos, Willie Nepumuceno and Sammy Santamaria, Glenn - (not in photo)

.
Ma’s Concern: Pohl Soller – †, Ben Navea – †, Hector Lopez, Bim Bacaltos, Willie Nepumuceno and Sammy Santamaria, Glenn – (not in photo)

Glenn seated below his locker / UPCFA, Diliman, QC

.
Glenn – seated below his locker / UPCFA, Diliman, QC

Well, as a freshman, I started to meet with my classmates and schoolmates at the locker room. This means that I had the opportunity to meet with both the Fine Art students, as well as the Architecture students using the same fourth floor of Gonzales Hall, also known as the UP Main Library. The locker room was a common space for all fine art students where we eventually formed a singing group called, “Ma’s Concern“, meaning, mothers’ concern. There we shared creative expressions using photography, graffiti poems and visual artworks on locker doors- – both outside and inside our lockers. After classes, we spent some amount of time to crack jokes, unwind by singing while I played the guitar, recite poems and just do anything to shake off the rigid and demanding art lessons and requirements for the day. On the right wing of the fourth floor were Architecture students we had come to know and become friends with. Because of this, some members from Fine Arts and Architecture formed another singing group called, “CAFAsingers” and “Gentle Rain” initiated by Nonong Pedero. He is more known now as “Dero”. Interactions between male and female art students also led to forming photography groups called, ALM and BLM.  ALM stands for “available light movement” and BLM, I have forgotten. Help! This is all for now, and since I will be including this narrative in my blogs which I recently resumed, I will continue, now and then to add more related images and stories.

.

. Glenn w/ UPCFA mates / Available Light Movement 1971 UP CAFA locker room - at UP College of Fine Arts and Architecture

.
Glenn w/ UPCFA mates / Available Light Movement 1971
UP CAFA locker room – at UP College of Fine Arts and Architecture

.

Tiks etc . .

.

U P C A F A  – C A F A s i n g e r s  /  H a y r i d e

*

. . Original CAFAsingers singing, perhaps, "Man from Egypt" . Glenn A. Bautista: Sorry, I forgot to include Onie, hehe . . tatlo pala! and where was Sammy? Dinky von Einsiedel: Is that Sammy between me and Ely? This is a nice remembrance of times past, Glenn. How can I enlarge it? Thanks for sharing! Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, Dinky, that's Sammy . . it was really small and unrecognizable. Note the dark areas behind our heads indicating a strong flash was used. There was no demarcation at all, I tried separating the head from the shadow. Try this one I just made a bit bigger. It was only 28kb! Glenn A. Bautista: RomyB hardly changed . . . Eduard Percival Labadia: Hi, Glenn Bro, musta na? bakit ang liit namang file yan... kanino nagmula ba yan? Si Romy na pala yan? Makikilala ko pa rin siya anytime na magkakabanggan kami... hahaha, bass ang boses nyan, di ba? Glenn A. Bautista: Hi Eduard, happy to hear from you, CFA & Banggaan bro. Oo nga, but I don't know where my son, David got this photo. David likes looking into family pictures and history. I am fortunate to have such a son like him. Are you back in Pinas, and for good? Weather in NJ has not been that good the past months. - EdLab pala, do you have any photo of you and Ping with the guitar singing at the UPCFA amphitheater, or any related photo? I'd like to include this in my CAFA blog if you have any: https://glenlorndav.wordpress.com/.../ Eduard Percival Labadia: Glenn'bro, andito ako ngayon sa NJ since Aug. 22nd visiting our daugh here in Jersey City. I touched base with Dinky since yesterday.. I got just one picture with Ping, the late Vads Revadillo and the rest of the Extremes.. anduon din yata si Adi Baenz-Santos.. hahalungkatin ko pa... okay lang weather dito sa NJ ngayon... actually I've just started taking off shadows on the wall in this CAFA pix you sent Dinky, before the end of the day, tapos yan... sofasogo with the two guys at extreme left Glenn A. Bautista: hehe, d ka rin nakatiis, kamukha kasi lahat ni "Prince o Frankenstein" pag may shadow sa ulo, binawasan ko na yan, dati black lahat yan at beyond recognition ang boong pic . . Eduard Percival Labadia: they should come out decent enough for positive recognition after my "lay hand" rituals, hahaha... I'll try to beat a CCTV blurry imaging should try figuring out how to make Romy's patented crew-cut distinct and on the groove with the time. Eduard Percival Labadia: Teka, teka, I believe I might have confused Adi's crew cut with Romy's equally straight hair but with Pol Salcedo's greased lighting with "hati" sa kaliwa, right?

.
.
Original CAFAsingers singing, perhaps, “Man from Egypt
.
Glenn A. Bautista: Sorry, I forgot to include Onie, hehe . . tatlo pala! and where was Sammy?
Dinky von Einsiedel: Is that Sammy between me and Ely? This is a nice remembrance of times past, Glenn. How can I enlarge it? Thanks for sharing!
Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, Dinky, that’s Sammy . . it was really small and unrecognizable. Note the dark areas behind our heads indicating a strong flash was used. There was no demarcation at all, I tried separating the head from the shadow. Try this one I just made a bit bigger. It was only 28kb!
Glenn A. Bautista: RomyB hardly changed . . .
Eduard Percival Labadia: Hi, Glenn Bro, musta na? bakit ang liit namang file yan… kanino nagmula ba yan? Si Romy na pala yan? Makikilala ko pa rin siya anytime na magkakabanggan kami… hahaha, bass ang boses nyan, di ba?
Glenn A. Bautista: Hi Eduard, happy to hear from you, CFA & Banggaan bro. Oo nga, but I don’t know where my son, David got this photo. David likes looking into family pictures and history. I am fortunate to have such a son like him. Are you back in Pinas, and for good? Weather in NJ has not been that good the past months. – EdLab pala, do you have any photo of you and Ping with the guitar singing at the UPCFA amphitheater, or any related photo? I’d like to include this in my CAFA blog if you have any: https://glenlorndav.wordpress.com/…/
Eduard Percival Labadia: Glenn’bro, andito ako ngayon sa NJ since Aug. 22nd visiting our daugh here in Jersey City. I touched base with Dinky since yesterday.. I got just one picture with Ping, the late Vads Revadillo and the rest of the Extremes.. anduon din yata si Adi Baenz-Santos.. hahalungkatin ko pa… okay lang weather dito sa NJ ngayon… actually I’ve just started taking off shadows on the wall in this CAFA pix you sent Dinky, before the end of the day, tapos yan… sofasogo with the two guys at extreme left
Glenn A. Bautista: hehe, d ka rin nakatiis, kamukha kasi lahat ni “Prince o Frankenstein” pag may shadow sa ulo, binawasan ko na yan, dati black lahat yan at beyond recognition ang boong pic . .
Eduard Percival Labadia: they should come out decent enough for positive recognition after my “lay hand” rituals, hahaha… I’ll try to beat a CCTV blurry imaging should try figuring out how to make Romy’s patented crew-cut distinct and on the groove with the time.
Eduard Percival Labadia: Teka, teka, I believe I might have confused Adi’s crew cut with Romy’s equally straight hair but with Pol Salcedo’s greased lighting with “hati” sa kaliwa, right?

. Leon Mayo 9:01 AM (8 hours ago) to Yahoogp, AA, me, citizenkate, Fiel  The Saga Continues . . . Yesterday, the Manhattan CAFAs had a get together at Chelsea (on 23 St.) upon the invitation of Rody Picar.  Tong and Rita hosted the lunch at 'Spice', an Asian fusion resto.  After the great lunch the guys proceeded to Rody's nearby pad for coffee.  Apart from Rody, the guys were:  Eileen, Rudy and Cindy, Romy and Rori, Nore and Didi, Tong and Rita, Bili and Oni.  Howi, was a able to join only after work but still in time to catch remnants of Rody's delectable coffee and sweets fare.     After talking about the people who were not there, the group agreed to have an excursion on Saturday. The destination will be Poconos (Pennsylvania) in Rody and Howi's vacation home.  Paging Tito and Sam, please get in touch with Rody, Tong or Rita for the details or forever hold your piece. Also, can anyone bring a guitar para masaya ? Check out the attached photos.

.
Leon Mayo
9:01 AM (8 hours ago) Leon Mayo,
to: Yahoog CAFA – cafasingers
cc: AA Billie, CAFA, Glenn Bautista,Kate, Fiel Zabat –
The Saga Continues . . .
Yesterday, the Manhattan CAFAs had a get together at Chelsea (on 23 St.) upon the invitation of Rody Picar. Tong and Rita hosted the lunch at ‘Spice’, an Asian fusion resto. After the great lunch the guys proceeded to Rody’s nearby pad for coffee. Apart from Rody, the guys were: Eileen, Rudy and Cindy, Romy and Rori, Nore and Didi, Tong and Rita, Bili and Oni. Howi, was a able to join only after work but still in time to catch remnants of Rody’s delectable coffee and sweets fare.
After talking about the people who were not there, the group agreed to have an excursion on Saturday. The destination will be Poconos (Pennsylvania) in Rody and Howi’s vacation home.
Paging Tito and Sam, please get in touch with Rody, Tong or Rita for the details or forever hold your piece. Also, can anyone bring a guitar para masaya ?
Check out the attached photos. (more on – -> CAFAsingers)

.

.

RomyRoryGlenn

.

.

Gentle Rain: Noel Plana, Adi Baens Santos, Glenn Bautista, Nonong Pedero, Rody Picar

.
Gentle Rain: Noel Plana, Adi Baens Santos, Glenn Bautista,
Nonong Pedero, Rody Picar

*

U P C F A  /  O D Y  –  S A R A H 

W E D D I N G

*

UP mates

.
Ody – Sarah Wedding / UPCFA college mates
.
Maria Natale, Vinchu Lapid, Emily T. Abonal and 5 others like this.
View 25 more comments
May 2, 2012
Ging Ticzon Tiongson: June…its glenn bautista who tagged me this photo..not tina
Armand Bacaltos: “Six degrees of separation”: I post this photo, tag Tina Bacaltos (my wife), tag Glenn A. Bautista, who inturn tags Ging Ticzon Tiongson, who is apparently a friend of June L. Alibudbud, who is a friend of Tina and me and happens to be the wife of my former classmate in Ateneo …so there ! The wonders of facebook!
Mariquit Soriano: correct… and since I have set my wall to private and thus didn’t expect that I would be tagged, am wondering, hehehe –who is Armand?? Torch or no torch, the Tiongsons are dear, dear friends and of course Ging falls in that category. Glenn is a special friend, ehem.
Ging Ticzon Tiongson: Of course Kit…Glenn is a special friend & remains to be one despite the “separation!” ehem..haha..just found a long lost friend on facebook…what facebook can do!!!
Glenn A. Bautista: No one ever lost me, my spirit is omnipresent, hehe. Armand? – – is a younger dear frat bro, friend & UP mate, the younger bro of Emily, my UP Fine Arts mate. Do we have reason enough to “kitakits” when I come home, possibly this Dec?
Mariquit Soriano: oh wow, of course Glenn! Ging Ticzon Tiongson and I would love to catch up on kuwentos and all. That is if you’re not scared to be smothered with kisses and hugs from the both of us. Excited na rin si Ging, hehe.

*

Emmanuel Garalde: Remembering Pohl Soller at Mrs. Soller's house. September 25, 1975 September 24, 2011  Bon C. Reyes: In search of the lost chord. Glenn A. Bautista: thanks Noli for posting this photo . . Glenn A. Bautista: Btw, Lorna remembers the blue rectangular cookie can w/ negs . . hope to find it one day in BF Homes . . . Emmanuel Garalde: I hope you find it. Mrs. Soller gave it to me when Pohl died.They did not know what to do with it. There are lots of memories in those negatives. Samuel Santamaria: just noticed Hector's classic studio pose: nakahawak sa dahon  Peggy Bose: Asan si Santy? Emmanuel Garalde: d ako sure kung andito siya at that time.

.
 Remembering Pohl Soller at Mrs. Soller’s house. September 25, 1975
September 24, 2011
Bon C. Reyes: In search of the lost chord.
Glenn A. Bautista: thanks Noli for posting this photo . .
Glenn A. Bautista: Btw, Lorna remembers the blue rectangular cookie can w/ negs . . hope to find it one day in BF Homes . . .
Emmanuel Garalde: I hope you find it. Mrs. Soller gave it to me when Pohl died.They did not know what to do with it. There are lots of memories in those negatives.
Samuel Santamaria: just noticed Hector’s classic studio pose: nakahawak sa dahon
Peggy Bose: Asan si Santy?
Emmanuel Garalde: d ako sure kung andito siya at that time.

*

Pohl celeb - alm

.
UPCFA Friends & Family at Mama Pohl’s place
.
Samuel Santamaria, Emily T. Abonal, Bon C. Reyes and 14 others like this.
Emmanuel Garalde: Remembering Pohl Soller. September 25, 1980 at Mrs. Soller’s house.
Armand Bacaltos: Natatandaan mo kung hanggang anong taon tayo nagpupunta sa kanila tuwing Sept. 25, Noli?
Armand Bacaltos: Si Evita ba yung sa harap ni Becky?
Emmanuel Garalde: check ko mga negatives ko. there was one time we went to glenn’s house in cavite. yes that’s evita and children.
Mutya Bose-Roldan: LOVE!
Bon C. Reyes: Kanino yung Nikon sa table?
Emmanuel Garalde: kay hector ata. motorized pa.
Glenn A. Bautista: amazing photo . . . tnx4sharing, Noli . . .
Brandon Ferguson: I picked you out immediatley!
Mario Santa Maria: Happy Birthday Noli!
Isabelle Besinga: nice to see familiar faces

*

UPCFA Friends & Family at Mama Pohls place

.
UPCFA Friends & Family at Mama Pohl’s place. She is famous for her “dinuguan”

*

Evita, Len, Thelma, Bambi, Maria - photo courtesy of Len Francisco

.
BLMs – Evita, Len, Thelma, Bambi, Maria (photo courtesy of Len Francisco): Armand Bacaltos, Teresa Liceralde Elloso Celdran, Geoffrey Bernard William Little, Vics Magsaysay, and 2 others like this.
Maria Natale: Too hilarious
Glenn A. Bautista: Seriously Maria, what does “BLM” stand for?
Maria Natale: Babe Light Movement . NOT!
Glenn A. Bautista: How can you members of “BLM” forget?!?!?
Emmanuel Garalde: Blue Ladies Movement. ALM. Kaya BLM.
Glenn A. Bautista: Thanks, Noli for clarifying . . .

*

ALMs & Ma's Concern - CCC - UPCFA / February 7, 2011  @ Bim's Place near Cubao, QC  Armand Bacaltos: Si Ed Labadia nga ba yung nakatayo? Samuel Santamaria: Hindi si Ed L yun, kahawig lang. At bakit topless sina Bunny, Ben, at si Putchat. Armand Bacaltos @Sammy: Mahiwagang katauhan ito ....maalinsangan lang nung gabi na yun, walang kahulugan sa mga ano mang tendencies  Glenn A. Bautista: @ cno kumuha nito? . . kung panahon ni Adi noong andyan tayo, c Ed Labadia nga yan . . laging magkasama kumakanta yung dalawa @ Ping Fargas sa amphitheater sa CFA. Dati c Adi nag-aarange ng ibang kanta ng Ma's Concern sa haybols ni Bim. Armand Bacaltos: Tag mo si Ed para sya na mismo ang either mag-confirm or rebut. Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar: manonood kami at makikinig tagapalakpak ulit youtube nyo

.
ALMs & Ma’s Concern – UPCFA / February 7, 2011
@ Bim’s Place near Cubao, QC
Armand Bacaltos: Si Ed Labadia nga ba yung nakatayo?
Samuel Santamaria: Hindi si Ed L yun, kahawig lang. At bakit topless sina Bunny, Ben, at si Putchat.
Armand Bacaltos @Sammy: Mahiwagang katauhan ito ….maalinsangan lang nung gabi na yun, walang kahulugan sa mga ano mang tendencies
Glenn A. Bautista: @ cno kumuha nito? . . kung panahon ni Adi noong andyan tayo, c Ed Labadia nga yan . . laging magkasama kumakanta yung dalawa @ Ping Fargas sa amphitheater sa CFA. Dati c Adi nag-aarange ng ibang kanta ng Ma’s Concern sa haybols ni Bim.
Armand Bacaltos: Tag mo si Ed para sya na mismo ang either mag-confirm or rebut.
Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar: manonood kami at makikinig tagapalakpak ulit youtube nyo

*

Glenn A. Bautista / January 24, 2011 @ Jing's Place? — with Rommel F. Reyes, Peggy Bose, Tina Bacaltos, Armand Bacaltos, Emerito Garcia and Edgar Salazar. Armand Bacaltos: No, this was at Ad's place in Calamba on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary (Tina and I) in 2001. A few days before 9/11 took place. Glenn A. Bautista: I thought I was alone in BF watchin' tv when it took place. How come I was with the group? Did you then pick me up in BF or meet at a Shell station somewhere?  Armand Bacaltos: Dinaanan ka namin sa BF. Glenn A. Bautista: ah, wow . . siguro nga. Glenn A. Bautista: Bim, kindly tag d others . . Glenn A. Bautista: emerito ba c pride? Glenn A. Bautista: yung nasa harap sa kaliwa . . Armand Bacaltos: emerito, pride, bato, tobats and "master Bates" to Artists' Circle neophytes XD Armand Bacaltos: Yung nasa kaliwa, si Jimmy Jimenez, pioneer brod sa Artist's Circle. Rommel F. Reyes: Braaaad... pang Smithsonian photo ito. Was this colorized from a B/W photo??? Regards to all!!! Glenn A. Bautista: Not at all Rommel, this must have been taken w/ my first archaic Sony Mavica floppy disk card digital camera. T'was expensive but res was not so good, even d color . . but better than nothin', d ba? But, I think this wasn't d orig file but a small res version . . Edgar Salazar: 101% sure ako orig file iyan kaya nga mukhang mga matatanda mga boys, pang archaic talaga mga dating- mga chicks lang talaga nagiging bata...di ba tins? Armand Bacaltos @Bunny: Mukhang bata kaya sila dahil hindi natin binibigyan ng problema kaya masaya? Glenn A. Bautista @ bunny & bim: . . ows, talaga?, hehe . . sumipol kaya ako ng d gud d bad n d ugly, haha . . memories ba bimB? Edgar Salazar: madame malou - kasama ka sa mga hindi problemado kaya beauty ka pa rin.....YESSSSSS!!!! kamusta na mga frends malou,glenn,mel sr.,etc etc...si bim,sieg at rito nagkasama kami last wk.. Armand Bacaltos @Bunny: na-sentensyahan na ni Joaquin yung toblerone ni Noli kaya kelangan magkita ulit tayo ni Sieg bago sya umuwi sa States. Emerito Garcia: Bro, ano ba ang huli nyong usapan nila sieg. kailan ang balik niya d2 manila? Sana mayroon pa siyang time para magkikita pa tayo! Armand Bacaltos: siguradong magkikita pa bago sya umuwi sa 20th. Nagpapa-reserve pa kay Tins ng flight sa busuanga. Emerito Garcia: Bro di ba dapat may theme ang ocassion na ito? Hawaiian ba? bakit ako lang yata ang sumunod. Alam mo ba na hiniram ko pa itong suot ko sa Hyatt? Emerito Garcia: Sana weekend para makasam lahat Armand Bacaltos: Hawaiian nga theme pero kj lang yung iba. Meron kayong nahihiraman ng ganon sa Hyatt?

.
January 24, 2011
@ Jing’s Place? — with Rommel F. Reyes, Peggy Bose, Tina Bacaltos, Armand Bacaltos, Emerito Garcia and Edgar Salazar.
Armand Bacaltos: No, this was at Ad’s place in Calamba on the occasion of our 25th wedding anniversary (Tina and I) in 2001. A few days before 9/11 took place.
Glenn A. Bautista: I thought I was alone in BF watchin’ tv when it took place. How come I was with the group? Did you then pick me up in BF or meet at a Shell station somewhere?
Armand Bacaltos: Dinaanan ka namin sa BF.
Glenn A. Bautista: ah, wow . . siguro nga.
Glenn A. Bautista: Bim, kindly tag d others . .
Glenn A. Bautista: emerito ba c pride?
Glenn A. Bautista: yung nasa harap sa kaliwa . .
Armand Bacaltos: emerito, pride, bato, tobats and “master Bates” to Artists’ Circle neophytes XD
Armand Bacaltos: Yung nasa kaliwa, si Jimmy Jimenez, pioneer brod sa Artist’s Circle.
Rommel F. Reyes: Braaaad… pang Smithsonian photo ito. Was this colorized from a B/W photo??? Regards to all!!!
Glenn A. Bautista: Not at all Rommel, this must have been taken w/ my first archaic Sony Mavica floppy disk card digital camera. T’was expensive but res was not so good, even d color . . but better than nothin’, d ba? But, I think this wasn’t d orig file but a small res version . .
Edgar Salazar: 101% sure ako orig file iyan kaya nga mukhang mga matatanda mga boys, pang archaic talaga mga dating- mga chicks lang talaga nagiging bata…di ba tins?
Armand Bacaltos @Bunny: Mukhang bata kaya sila dahil hindi natin binibigyan ng problema kaya masaya?
Glenn A. Bautista @ bunny & bim: . . ows, talaga?, hehe . . sumipol kaya ako ng d gud d bad n d ugly, haha . . memories ba bimB?
Edgar Salazar: madame malou – kasama ka sa mga hindi problemado kaya beauty ka pa rin…..YESSSSSS!!!!
kamusta na mga frends malou,glenn,mel sr.,etc etc…si bim,sieg at rito nagkasama kami last wk..
Armand Bacaltos @Bunny: na-sentensyahan na ni Joaquin yung toblerone ni Noli kaya kelangan magkita ulit tayo ni Sieg bago sya umuwi sa States.
Emerito Garcia: Bro, ano ba ang huli nyong usapan nila sieg. kailan ang balik niya d2 manila? Sana mayroon pa siyang time para magkikita pa tayo!
Armand Bacaltos: siguradong magkikita pa bago sya umuwi sa 20th. Nagpapa-reserve pa kay Tins ng flight sa busuanga.
Emerito Garcia: Bro di ba dapat may theme ang ocassion na ito? Hawaiian ba? bakit ako lang yata ang sumunod. Alam mo ba na hiniram ko pa itong suot ko sa Hyatt?
Emerito Garcia: Sana weekend para makasam lahat
Armand Bacaltos: Hawaiian nga theme pero kj lang yung iba. Meron kayong nahihiraman ng ganon sa Hyatt?

*

Armand Bacaltos: Sketched during one of our gatherings at Ad's resort in Calamba. Four years later, this was brought by his sisters to be exhibited at the chapel where his wake was held after he passed away in December 2005. Our dear departed friend will be in our hearts forever. Glenn A. Bautista: Sonny from QC would pick me up from Imus just to play golf in Carmona - Southwoods Golf course. Didn't get to take pictures then. Would have been great if I have pictures to remember him by. At least, I have a Callaway driver from him which I still use...See More

.
Armand Bacaltos: Sketched during one of our gatherings at Ad’s resort in Calamba. Four years later, this was brought by his sisters to be exhibited at the chapel where his wake was held after he passed away in December 2005. Our dear departed friend will be in our hearts forever.
Glenn A. Bautista: Sonny from QC would pick me up from Imus just to play golf in Carmona – Southwoods Golf course. Didn’t get to take pictures then. Would have been great if I have pictures to remember him by. At least, I have a Callaway driver from him which I still use…See More

*

Glenn & Bim-Glenn'Studio, Imus, Cavite

.
Glenn & Bim-Glenn’Studio, Imus, Cavite

*

Bim Bacaltos, Peggy Bose, Glenn Bautista / Recording Songs

.
Bim Bacaltos, Peggy Bose, Glenn Bautista / Recording Songs

Glenn A. Bautista @ Ad's Place — with Peggy Bose, Armand Bacaltos, Tina Bacaltos and Adrienne Aguilar.

.
Glenn A. Bautista
@ Ad’s Place — with Peggy Bose, Armand Bacaltos, Tina Bacaltos and Adrienne Aguilar.

*

Click

My-UP-Peyups-Days

*

*

* * *

2 responses to “Ma’s Concern, CAFAsingers & Gentle Rain (ALM-BLM) / ’63-’69

  1. Anita C. Ilan, Cesar Angeles, Armand Bacaltos, Arthur Belarmino Uy, Louie N Jane A, Samuel Santamaria, Len Francisco, Felix Gonzales, Erickson A. Sandel, David Bautista, Len Francisco, Emily T. Abonal, Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar, Howard Borja, Edgar Salazar, Jeff T. Dizon, Teresa Liceralde Elloso Celdran. David Bautista, Howard Borja, Susan Aldecoa, Pablo Baen Santos, Leonilo Doloricon, Vics Magsaysay, Andy Sta. Maria, Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar, Jun Campos, Jun de Guzman, Gabriel C. SantaMaria, Osamu Yamada, Pandak, Bernard Mendoza, and six others like this.

    Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar: Was lucky to have heard you all three!

    Glenn A. Bautista: That’s good to know, Tonette. My involvement with these three singing groups was almost simultaneous, yet no conflicts experienced for we were all close friends.

    Jeanne Jacob: Wow Glenn! The world is indeed small, as I met Nonong in Tokyo, who composed the Philippine entry sung by Joel Navarro, and we’ve remained friends ever since.

    Glenn A. Bautista: Jeanne, happy to learn that you have become friends with “Dero”. We’ve known each other for quite sometime now and met with him in Makati before I left for the US. Hector and Mike are his brothers. Have you met them?

    Jeanne Jacob: Haven’t met Dero’s brothers. I last met up with Dero in 2008, but didn’t manage to meet up on my trips to Pinas in 2010 and 2011. I translated the lyrics of one of his songs into Japanese.

    Glenn A. Bautista: Wow, Jeanne, so you are proficient in Japanese. I can do German, Spanish but none of the Asian languages. I lived with a Vietnamese family in Pearland, TX for two year and can’t remember a single word, except “YO”, meaning “cheers” while drinking beer, hehe.

    Jeanne Jacob: Schoen. Do you have any chance to use German these days? Spanish of course is widespread in the US.

    Glenn A. Bautista: None at all, Jeanne, but I can still remember to get by when the need to speak it arises. Had Lorna and I known that Spanish would be so useful, we would have been more serious in learning it while in college. I even supported the “Cuenco Bill” vs Spanish and joined the rally cutting on my Spanish class, stupid really . . .

    Cary Abeleda: Memories talaga! I do remember the CAFA Singers very well!! A home grown singing group of the UP College of Fine Arts and Architecture!!! We were all so young then. Totoy ka pa and quite shy. The ladies of Fine Arts didn’t know how to handle you!

    Glenn A. Bautista: Cary, hahaha, didn’t know how to handle me . . . I was always willing to interact w/ them and assist them, especially, with their art assignments, hehe, happy memories talaga!

    Bert Quibuyen: Spanish is useful. Found that out when we did a driving tour of southern Europe. French and Italians understand Spanish. The French won’t speak to you if you speak in English but will if in Spanish. Italians understand Spanish too. The official language in Barcelona is Catalan but Spanish is widely spoken.

    Willie Nepomuceno: perhaps a little chabacano can get you by. hola

    Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, Willie, I know that to be true. My father spoke both ‘chabacano’ and Spanish, and he communicated quite well with our former ‘helper’ who spoke ‘chabacano’ . . .

    Samuel Santamaria: Oye como va, mi ritmo.

    Glenn Bautista: Hi Onie, those prints were many years back. And by now, they are no longer available.
    The next best is for you to avail of good reproductions of my artworks from this online international site :

    http://glenn-studio.artistwebsites.com/galleries.html

    This site is my ‘art outreach’. At most I earn $10 for a print sale depending on size. The site may not accept printing if the image I have uploaded does not satisfy their size and resolution requisite. So, you may just order again the next smaller size. They are quite efficient in refunding or re-applying the amount involved in ordering. The amount of my originals may also be found in this site.

    Yes, communication is salvation. Without Facebook as my ‘lifeline’ to knowledgeable people in alternative medicine, cancer survivors, old and new friends, I wouldn’t be around today. The good Lord, indeed, supplies all our needs. Ailment as a curse becomes a blessing, to me and to others.

    In appreciation and gratitude,

    glenn

    Gentle Rain – CAFAsingers – I added more pix last night

    – – –

    On Sat, Oct 12, 2013 at 6:41 AM, Leon Mayo wrote:

    Good morning Glenn,

    I’m so glad that once again, in your case, medical prognosis is inaccurate. Somehow, I have that notion about the power of positive thinking over the human body. And if there is any person with that power, I must say it’s you. (Your conversation with your friend Byron is very revealing.)

    Your story is very inspiring. Sometime soon, maybe we can personally get to discuss life views (the way you did with Byron). Regarding this tread, I will pre-empt asking permission from you and share your story with the CAFAs. I think you know that the CAFAs genuinely care for all persons and activities CAFA. We had such a unique, small college then. We needed to bond together closely to compete with the other larger colleges in the University.

    Just yesterday, I spoke with Rody Picar. He was surprise to hear about your story. He reminisced about your special days together in the Gentle Rain.

    Last time around, I told you I would contact your son in the Philippines re the prints you showed me last time. Well, I haven’t done that yet but I’ll go to it when I get back. In my house, I have a few pieces of the works of my artist friends where I hope to have one of yours.

    Best wishes again and regards,
    Onie

    . . .

    On Sat, Oct 12, 2013 at 10:44 AM, GLENN BAUTISTA wrote:

    Glenn’s Blogs

    Hi Onie,

    After being confined for a month at a hospital in Baytown for surgery,
    I had a pronouncement from my oncologists that I had four months to live.

    That was last November, 2012

    I was supposed to have a 6-month invasive chemotherapy to which I agreed.
    However, I only lasted for 12 days and decided to quit. I couldn’t go on because of the side effects of chemo. Since then, I never visited Smith Clinic here in Houston nor consulted with my oncologists.
    It’s almost a year now, and I am quite fine playing golf, creating artworks and writing blogs.
    I have also been helping other cancer patients whose doctors gave up on them, and other cancer patients who, likewise, have decided to quit chemo. I have also been delivering messages to groups in Texas and in California about my miraculous healing. All I did was ask the Lord for healing and that I was willing to meet Him halfway. Here’s a recent interview that may shed more light about my health, art and life:

    http://www.globatron.org/interviews/glenn-bautista

    Blessings,
    glenn

    http://www.globatron.org/interviews/glenn-bautista

    Rod Morales: The truth is I just quickly browse over my emails and do not normally read details, the reason that I didn’t know you were diagnosed to have the big C. Your faith healed you and I strongly believe that for I too had experienced healing through prayers, though what I had were not really serious sickness such as what you had. From a friend to another this is what I can do, though you are already healed I will continue to pray for your complete and total healing. And with us bombarding heaven with our prayers I am sure God will let you continue on with the wonderful things you are doing for other people. God bless Glenn

  2. Pingback: BF Gallery-Studio Renov / BautistaFam Reunion-Sept ’12 | Glenn's CyberArtPages

Leave a Reply

