David & My Vintage Photos

.

by

glenn.angeles.bautista

.

. "From Glenn's Childhood to David's Childhood"

.
  “From Glenn’s Childhood to David’s Childhood”
(Blog written, ca. 1990)

.

Glenn sketching
.
This photo of me must have been taken in 1968, so 1968 less 1947 (my birth year) = 21. This must be a good guess ‘coz this was how I looked when I was 21. This photo must have been taken by my father, or by me using the 120 Yashica-D twin lens box camera’s self-timer. This was really my father’s camera, a camera he used while he was in the US during his studies in theology in New York.To my left are two of my artworks: The pen & ink line drawing of the interior of the Central Methodist Church (circa 1963) based on a sketch I did, showing the left pulpit or lectern, and on its right, the box for the choir. Mrs. Daisy de Pano Parungao was our choir conductor then. Two of the pews on the foreground represent the many others behind. I used to fall asleep in these pews when the worship services were too long. The front railing with knee red cushions are for those who would either take communion, or just for a special prayer request or dedication, or for Glenn to take his first, second or even third drink of ‘grape juice’ and 3/8’ of bread, until my father whispered to my ears . . this is your last, Glenn, ok? . . . you might go past over heaven.Having lived at the Central Church parsonage (interior- – all varnished wood) for eight years, I am quite familiar with its every ‘nook and cranny’. Below the pen and ink, is a study for a stained-glass window, having been influenced by the beautiful transparent colors of the many stained-glass windows at the Central Church interior, created by a certain craftsman, Mr. Kraut. His medium was the authentic material for stained glass work called, ‘antique glass’.The books to my left were those of writers, Roger Fry, Herbert Read, CS Lewis and a few art brochures from art exhibits I had visited. The drawing board I was working on was handcrafted by my elder brother, I call, “Kuya Jun”, who now lives in Cerritos, California with his beautiful wife, Julie and lovely daughter, April. The ‘rattan’ table on my left is part of the parsonage’s furniture set.
.
JueJulyAprilPastel1-sml-FB-TXSBN
.
My recent pastel portrait of
Kuya Jun, Ate Julie and April
. Visit with John-Tess, Charlie, Tes & Lien Manalo - Paranaque; Kuya Jun at Glenn'Studio, Imus, Cavite

.
Visit with John-Tess, Charlie, Tes & Lien Manalo(Paranaque); Kuya Jun at Glenn’Studio, (Imus, Cavite)

*
.
dav & dadG

.
Dad Glenn & son, David – (September visit / 2012)

*
IMAG1960
.
The oil painting behind me was my first oil painting (I wonder where it is now?), copied from a small illustration about human figure/anatomy, from one of three books (below the stained-glass study) given to me by my father’s missionary friend. It’s purpose was to orient an art student about the basic solid forms the human body displays. I will ask David to look for his name written on the three art books. These books are really a compilation of lessons from the Famous Art School instructors from the US, such as Norman Rockwell, Ben Stahl, Fred Ludeken, etc. This was also the time when I won an international art competition held at the New York World’s Fair. Well, time really flies. I never realized that one day, I would be looking back to write about these photos David showed to me the last time I visited home. Thank you, David. You are, truly,  a blessing. I love you. Take care, God bless.
.
gab by david-enhanced
*
. A few pages from the Famous Artist School Correspondence Course.

.
A few pages from the Famous Artists Schools Correspondence Course
.
Hi Byron,
Yes, with the Lord’s guidance and blessing, I continue to stay healthy, stronger and always mindful of the things I do to maintain my physical body which is, as the Bible says, God’s temple.
I have been occupied and entertained writing my blogs merely by departing from the photos my son, David has been sending to me. I never realized that writing about the past – relating it to the present is such a good therapy. The day passes without noticing it. While I continue to pour everything via my blogs, I take my fruit and veggie smoothie, eat light meals, take a few dietary supplements, stretch, exercise, pitch golf balls in trickles and do everything in a very relax, slow pace. Nothing rushed.
Among many others, you and my elder sister, Eunice continue to keep me well and at peace with myself. As I said before, my ailment which could have been a curse, has become a blessing to me and to others. I am sure, you are experiencing the same for you have always been on the right path.
I continue to believe that I am healthy and that the good Lord – the greatest Physician, continues to keep me well. I will continue to pray for you and your family.
Blessings,
glenn
On Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 11:07 AM, Byron King wrote:
FYI, what a sweet comment on your interview below. Just wanted to share it with you. I hope you are doing well. How is your health? Have you seen a doctor lately? Wondering how your blood work is doing with no chemo. I want you to beat it naturally. I want to beat my thing also so please keep me updated.
Sending our love….
– – –
Byron King
http://www.byronking.com
321-614-1818
I am globatron.org
.
From: Ate Necy
Date: October 14, 2013 at 10:07:56 AM EDT
To: byronking
Subject: [GLOBATRON] Comment: “Glenn Bautista”
New comment on your post “Glenn Bautista”
Author : Ate Necy
My Dear Glenn,
I’m speechless and tearful right now – with unspeakable joy – after reading and digesting every word in your priceless, treasure-filled gems of truth interview with Byron. What great spiritual insights! What deep and steady faith! God is rejoicing in heaven. You have finally discovered His life plan for you and you are fulfilling it. More so, God is enabling you to do it. Isn’t He so wonderful???
Adversities, trials in life sometimes God does allow to come into our lives to strengthen our spiritual muscles and to draw us closer to Him. You have become God’s agent wherever He has planted you. God is smiling down on you. Tatay and Nanay too! And of course, the whole family too!!!
You have truly evolved into a beautiful butterfly – your wings always flapping spreading the seeds of God’s love, grace and salvation for all. Keep it up, keep faith dear brother. You’re very safe in God’s loving hands!!!!
With Kuya Fil, Willy and Carol, we love you very much! Same to Lorna and David.
Always praying for you and our family daily,
Ate Necy

You can see all comments on this post here:
http://www.globatron.org/interviews/glenn-bautista#comments
Permalink: http://www.globatron.org/interviews/glenn-bautista#comment-9688

.
photography / David C. Bautista
.
. Famous Artists Schools Instructors / Westport, Connecticut, USA

.
Famous Artists Schools Instructors
Westport, Connecticut, USA
.
Norman Rockwell, Peter Helck, Al Parker, Jon Whitcomb, Stevan Dohanos, Austin Briggs, Ben Stahl, Harold Von Schmidt, Robert Fawcett, Dong Kingman, Fred Ludekens, Albert Dorne

.
.
. Chancel Choir led by Daisy Parungao, Central United Methodist Church Right image: Then, my nephew, young Jun Manalo; now Pastor John Manalo of UMC; Edwin, Glenn & John Wesley – taken w/ Tatay’s Yashica D 120 Twin lens Box Camera (ca. 1960-69)

.
Chancel Choir led by Daisy Parungao, Central United Methodist Church Right image:
Then, my nephew, young Jun Manalo; now Pastor John Manalo of UMC; Edwin, Glenn & John Wesley – taken w/ Tatay’s Yashica D 120 Twin lens Box Camera (ca. 1960-69)

*
.
. Rev I. P. Bautista & then, Jun Manalo, now - Pastor John Manalo

.
Rev I. P. Bautista & then, Jun Manalo,
now – Pastor John Manalo
.
I grew up in the Methodist Church . .
my father, Rev. Ignacio P. Bautista, a Methodist pastor,
-my mom, Eugenia, a Methodist deaconess,
-my younger bro, Edwin a Methodist choir conductor,
-my youngest bro, Johnny, a Methodist singing in the choir and lately conducting, too,
-my elder sis, Miriam, a Methodist hammond organist,
-my elder sis, Ate Loida, a Methodist pastor / B.D.
-my eldest sis Ate Necy, a Methodist deaconess
-myself, a Methodist visual artist . . .
but none of us really follow my father’s footsteps,
except for my nephew, Jun Manalo, now Pastor John Manalo.

.
.
.
past-current eventsDavid dearest,
.
An amazing map I bumped into (similar to National Geographic) just because I always read on my google site the past events of a current day. Today I was reading about the “Yom Kippur War”.
.
(1972) This particular map of the Holy Land is similar to the physical map given to me by a friend  I met at a train station in Barcelona, Spain (he worked with National Geographic – looking for his mother in Spain) –> where we were waken up by a fireman’s hose because we were sleeping on the floors of the train station. The hotels were full and we couldn’t avail of money exchange. That’s why numerous “back-pack-bag young travelers” like me had no choice than to sleep right there on the train station’s floor.
.
My friend told me to use a magnifying glass to appreciate the map, for each place has its notations similar to this one you are looking at now. When you zoom in to any part of the Holy Land map (+ & – sign), you will notice some significant events pointed to with an arrow that took place during Jesus’ time. Bible verses, sometimes, are also supplied.
.
I imagine an animal with upright ears (Lebanon), white bulging eyes (center of Jesus’ ministry), jaw (place where Jesus grew), nose of a pig or a wolf, eating something, also, pushing something (like a bull – Sinai Peninsula) and hurting something upwards (Lebanon) as if he’s got horns so I can easily remember the locations and events that transpired in these places during Jesus’ time.
.
This is the 66 yr old man’s way of going about learning something, hehe . . .
Learning about history, especially during Jesus’ time, I really find relevant and interesting.
.
.
love you
dadG
*
. Animal figure - an aid to remember places and events

.
Animal figurean aid to remember places and events
.
I imagine an animal with upright ears (Lebanon), white bulging eyes (center of Jesus’ ministry), jaw (place where Jesus grew), nose of a pig or a wolf, eating something, also, pushing something (like a bull – Sinai Peninsula) and hurting something upwards (Lebanon) as if he’s got horns so I can easily remember the locations and events that transpired in these places during Jesus’ time.

.

. Two month "Eurail pass allowing me to travel via train anywhere, anytime in Europe. I normally slept  where my room was inside the train availing of a bed they call "cochet", so I find myself in another country upon waking up. I had visited most of the 13 countries in Europe as a "bag-pack-bag traveler".

.
Two month “Eurail pass” allowing me to travel via train anywhere, anytime in Europe. I normally slept where my room was inside the train availing of a bed they call “cochette”, so I find myself in another country upon waking up. I had visited most of the 13 countries in Europe as a “back-pack-bag traveler”.

.

Other Photos sent in by David

(I will write about these photos one at a time)

.

.

suffer comp

.
The model for the painting, Suffer the little Children ’66”
is Kathleen Pascual Rodriguez, the daughter of Amie & Concepcion Pascual,
now residing in Oslo, Norway. 

.

IMAG1793

.
Rev. Ignacio P. Bautista, Mrs. Asuncion Perez, Mrs. Eugenia A. Bautista, Glenn Bautista (behind), Jun Bautista, Mr, Abrantes, Tio Kandong (Tatay’s brother)
Mosebrook Hall / Central Methodist Church

.

anne mosebrook

.
Anne Mosebrook / Pencil sketch ’64
by Glenn A. Bautista
.
Rodolfo Samonte, Brian Alvin, Emjay Javinez, Jeanne Jacob, John B Manalo, Byron King, Imelda Cajipe, Endaya, Ramon Orlina, Dante Hipolito, Cesar Angeles, Lcristina Bautista, Imelda Abella, Elvi Garcia Bangit, Maritez Cruz, Gisela Kistner, Linda Pirrone, Cesar Angeles, Louie N Jane A, Ramon Orlina and 2 others like this.
Cito Cruz: I remember those days.
Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, Cito, still quite distinct in my mind, too . .
John B Manalo: Wala na ang mga puno na yan sa Central.
Glenn A. Bautista: Haha, Pastor John, laging may pagbabago sa anumang bagay . . .
Anne Mosebrook-lewis: Glenn, I’m honored you saved htat pencil drawing of me sooo long ago…
Glenn A. Bautista: Hi Anne, it’s good to hear from you again. I tagged Karel, too. Do you still have this portrait with you? Keep in touch. God bless.
Anne Mosebrook-lewis: I do…infact my son has it…you must be doing well if you’re taking up golf…pleased to hear from you…
Glenn A. Bautista: That’s good to know, Anne. I just emailed you a thread about my health using your Facebook email addy. Hope it gets to you.
Glenn A. Bautista: Anne, I just got a msg that it didn’t get to you . . I will try sending it via FB message.

.

. Portrait of Dr. Gumersindo Garcia - by Glenn A. Bautista / Exhibited at the Gumersindo Garcia Hall, Central United Methodist Church, Ermita, Manila, Philippines

.
Portrait of Dr. Gumersindo Garcia -1967 
by Glenn A. Bautista / Exhibited at the Gumersindo Garcia Hall, Central United Methodist Church, Ermita, Manila, Philippines
.
Glenn: I was still a freshman then at the UP College of Fine Arts when I had this brief talk with the famous operatic singer, Aurelio Estanislao of the UP College of Music. He told me once, that in the near future, I will be leaving my beloved country, not because I am not happy with my life there, but because I will have to further hone my craft, learn more about other cultures and get to see, feel and absorb other cultures to make a better artist out of me. But, after all these, I must come back to, likewise, share what I have learned and experienced. I mentioned this here looking at Dr. Gumersindo Garcia’s portrait, simply because, Aurelio was a close friend of this humble, philanthropic medical doctor. When the good doctor crossed over to join his Maker, Aurelio sang at Dr. Gumersindo Garcia’s wake at Central Methodist Church, but could not finish his song, crying. These two great people made a difference in my life.

.

. Aurelio Estanislao is one of the 1959 TOYM Awardees for Sculpture. Gawad CCP Para Sa Sining was also awarded to Aurelio Estanislao for music.

.
Aurelio Estanislao is one of the 1959 TOYM Awardees for Sculpture. Gawad CCP Para Sa Sining was also awarded to Aurelio Estanislao for music. (c/o – wiredstate.com)

.

.

. Dr. Gumersindo Garcia, Anne Mosebrook, Amie Pascual, Pencil Sketch - Central UMC Interior, Watercolor - Exterior-right side of Central UMC

.
Dr. Gumersindo Garcia, Anne Mosebrook, Kathleen Pascual Rodriguez, Pencil Sketch – Central UMC Interior, Watercolor – Exterior-right side of Central UMC
.
More on: Glenn’s Christian Art

.

glen -junMirLoicomp

.
Kuya Jun, Ate Mir, Ate Loie & Glenn
Central United Methodist Church
.
David: hahaha crew cut daddy
Glenn: crew cut . . mahaba sa gilid, lawn mowered sa taas, hehe
David: haha ganda ng pics
Glenn: kroger, oks na grocery malapit lang sa amin . . mga 6 mins
. . magsasawa ka ngayon sa istorya ko, daming blogs, hehe . . luv u.
wl keep on adding, each day . .
David: hehe d naman ako nagsasawa, mahilig mo drawing ung mga damit mo aa picture hehehe
???
David: ung mga photo, dinadrawingan
mo ng ballpen, iniiba mo suot mo haha
Glenn: oo nga, e . . sayang ano?
e, bale period ko na rin sa kalokohan yun, hehe
David: haha
hindi sayang kasi naaalala m ung time na nagdrawing
ka sa photo
baka gusto mo ibahin damit mo noon
Glenn: Oo nga . . tapos, d ba, gumagawa ako talaga ngayon ng art photos?
Pwede ko pala ilagay doon na un an start ng art photos ko, hehe
David: oo
un ang original idea, haha, nice ano?
Glenn: Oo, nice to write blogs w/ pictures
David: yeah, always is. parang u appreciate d present and past more when u remember
Glenn: Ding Roces encouraged me to, kasi
Glenn: now, I understand DingR, why he loves to write
David: ano daw sabi nya pang encourage
Glenn: andun lahat sa blogs ko ang chat kay ding roces . .
he tells me specifically how to go about it .
Glenn: Now I understand why the good Lord made me create websites like: my art profile, youtube, my own site, artmajure, wordpress (tagal na ito, just neglected it),
I even have Blogspot . . I am using all of them as references for my new blogs . . linking them too
.
like start writing from a picture like the pic of me making a drawing on the drawing table , , w/ d books and pen & ink on d side, etc
David: siya din madaming blogs?
Glenn:oo nga . . pero regular talaga
pwede kang mag-subscribe via email . . anytime you can unsubscribe
or, i’ll just forward d good blogs from DingR

.

.Our basketball team at Central Methodist Church was called "Centralites". Members were: Bernardo Cabundoc, Tony Cabundoc, Oscar Ferrer, Jun Bautista, Leonidas Gutierrez, etc

.
Our basketball team at Central Methodist Church was calledCentralites“. Members were: Bernardo Cabundoc, Tony Cabundoc, Oscar Ferrer, Jun Bautista, Leonidas Gutierrez, etc

.

Image2-cheryl

.
Nemi Patenia, Glenn Bautista, Miriam Bautista, Cheryl Olivar
.
Nemi was a constant companion during Central Church days. He loves chatting with my father just about anything under the sun. He knows a lot about things like how to drink wine or any alcoholic drink without getting drunk, etc. Cheryl was an amazing “Hammond organ” player. I could not help but be impressed by her playing on “intermissions” during church services. Together with Jon Melegrito, Zeny Rifareal, Nemi Patenia and my elder sister Miriam, we often grouped together during choir rehearsals and refreshments. Unforgettable days at Central, indeed!

.

. Glenn Bautista, Leo Palaganas, the rest - ?

.
Glenn Bautista, Leo Palaganas, the rest – ?
Kitchen – Chancel Choir, Central UMC

.

. Tony Cabundoc, Edwin Lee Bautista,  John Wesley Bautista, Glenn Bautista / Luneta Park

.
Tony Cabundoc, Edwin Lee Bautista, John Wesley Bautista, Glenn Bautista / Luneta Park

.

glenMarArtcomp

.
I met with Arthur and Mario when I flew in May 2009 to California. Recently, because of my high schoolmates’ invitation to visit with them last May-June 2012, I got to meet again with Arthur. But shortly before that meeting, Mario, a dear friend had already crossed over to join his Maker. In the early ’70s, between Santa Barbara, California and Los Angeles, I would meet with Mario and other Filipino friends to stay with him for the weekend. My first three years as an art student at Brooks Institute/Santa Barbara, did not get to be a lonely journey because of Mario. He even visited me a few times in Santa Barbara, despite the 2-hour drive time along freeway 101. God bless you, Mario . . .

.

cooking outdoor

.
I can smell the “litson – lechon”
.
I can recognize Mario Abrantes (close to the tree trunks, my younger brother, Johnny (stooping down) Arthur Abrantes, my other younger brother, Edwin and myself. The one in front looks like Dean Castillejos.

.

561960_3155660608880_1850462430_n

.
This must be the W.S.C.S. 
Women’s Society of Christian Service
,
if I remember right.
.
These names are my guesses: (front) Mrs. Padilla, Ethel Mosebrook, Mrs. de Pano, ?, ?, Medina-Lacson de Leon, Asuncion Perez, ?, Mrs. Jacob, Espie de Rosario, ? (back) ?, Esther Pangindian, behind EsterP is Mrs. Corpuz -looking up, ?, the rest I do not recognize.

.

.
Early Religious Oil Paintings ‘1964-67
.
by Glenn A. Bautista / Central Methodist Church
Ermita, Manila, Philippines

.

. Glenn singing w Centralites - (Christmas Workcamp, Taytay, Rizal)

.
Glenn singing w/ Centralites:
.

Josie Bahia, Thelma Bersamin, ?, Glenn, Runes brothers, Bernardo Cabundoc, Peter Bersamin, Danny Cabundoc, Mario Abrantes, ? 

(Christmas Workcamp, Taytay, Rizal)

.

centralits - poolcomp

.
1st pic: Ruben Runes, Glenn, Arthur Abrantes, Thelma – 2nd pic: Glenn 3rd pic: Front: ? Bautista, ?, Josie Runes, Cora Cabundoc, Eden Melegrito
Back: Glenn, Peter Bersamin, Thelma Bersamin, Josie Bahia
(Christmas Workcamp, Taytay, Rizal)

.

MYF w Mir Glenn Jun

.
Methodist Youth Fellowship / Central Methodist Church
.

A few names I remember in this photo: Aquilino Javier, Rae Marcuelo, Stanley Jacob, Namor Enriquez’s brother, Daisy de Pano-Parungao, Cheryl Olivar, Zenaida Rifareal, Nemy Patenia, Tony Palaganas

.

. Glenn Bautista   Central UMC Days - ca. 1965

.
Glenn Bautista
Central UMC Days – ca. 1965
.
I can still remember the feel of wearing my socks and green “hush puppies”, the soft silky feel of my white shirt with black outline. Hair styling I was sporting then was called, “crew cut”.

.

Bautfamcomp

.
a: Wesley Methodist Church Parsonage – ca. 1954
b: Central Methodist Church Parsonage – ca. 1965

.

Wesley Methodist Church – ca. 1954

.

. (front): Glenn, Miriam, Jun (back): Rev. IP Bautista, Eunice ,  Deaconess Eugenia A. Bautista, Loida

.
Wesley Methodist Church
Santa Ana, Manila, Philippines
.
(front): Glenn, Miriam, Jun
(back): Rev. I.P. Bautista, Eunice ,
Deaconess Eugenia A. Bautista, Loida

.

It was also there that I found myself locked, inside the Wesley Methodist Church, until morning for having slept in one of the long pews, where my father, most likely, was the speaker for that night’s wake. You mean, I slept alone inside the church with another man’s coffin! I knocked several times just for them to discover, early in the morning, that their dear son Glenn was gone out all night on a date with a dead body in a coffin!

It was also there that my brother Jun, and I decided to do what a growing kid normally does a little after puberty. They do this to hasten one’s growth, so they say, and they dive straight into the salty river to hasten its healing. Kuya Jun and I did all these requisites only to find ourselves being commanded by my father to carry hollow blocks to help construct our house. Because of our reluctance to obey, my father eventually learned that we had gone through circumcision; he was again all over the place shouting, “Enyang”, “Enyang”.

Kuya Jun was my sparring partner. He was always behind me serving as a guide, be it a fight against the street kids in Sta. Ana, or decide for the best buy for sustenance with the little money left in our pockets. We decided to eat banana! Like north and south, we were really opposites. He was deliberate and talked very little. I was spontaneous and talked much. He loved math and geometry, and I loved to doodle and sing. We had a world of difference but we had love and respect for each other. He framed most of my early works and did the carpentry job for the first huge drawing board, the very same board where I composed an artwork, “The Event”, that won the International Christmas Art Competition in New York, at the New York World’s Fair in 1964-65. He was my first real art teacher. He always reminded me to use the color yellow to accent bring out the beauty in an artwork. Wait . . I’ll look for his photo so you get to see him.

At last, my search for a photo with him did not end in vain. Here’s an old one of Kuya Jun with Ate Julie, April, Tatay and Nanay. This was my chance, then, to return favors to him, after I’ve finally convinced him to come over to America. I became his instant guide in seeking employment for him. He passed all the requirements needed except for the physical examination because of weight problem. I asked him to eat his favorite fruit; three bunches of banana, equivalent to about fifteen to twenty pieces of banana, to reach the required weight! He passed, and, is still presently employed with that same IBM computer firm he sought employment with, in 1970.

.

natayjunjulieapril

.
Tatay, Nanay, Kuya Jun, Ate Julie, April

*

GLENN’S LIST OF BLOGS

.
.
One response to “David & My Vintage Photos

  1. Otick Latayan, Felice Prudente Sta. Maria, Jeanne Jacob, Anita C. Ilan, Jon B Bautista, Leslie Bocobo, Bernardo Bernardo, Emjay Javinez, Willie B. Laureano, Smiley Ruby, Maria Antonieta Vasquez Salazar, Theresa Servin, Lcristina Bautista, Dorothy T. Castro, Erickson A. Sandel, George Castaneda, Alan Rivera, Len Francisco, Janice Valenzuela, Boy Leonardo, Joann Castrillo, Rae Marcuelo, Kim Camantigue, MercadoLeo Viajedor, Carina C David, Joe Galvez, Arnaldo Bernabe Mirasol, Alejandro Manuel Cruz, Carlos Aquino, David Bautista, Ray Sison, Catherine C. Allada, Arthur Belarmino Uy, Saphia Rifareal, Noel Espiritu Velasco, Imelda Angeles Reantaso, Mario Santa Maria, Howard Borja, Benj Leoncio, Priscilla Kühne, Felix Gonzales, Dindong Javier and 2 others like this.

    Ray Sison: To your right would be the kitchen. I suppose it was a much more quiet place then. On our first night in that parsonage, huge container trucks were rambling down Kalaw St. all night long, and we weren’t able to sleep at all, except for my son, whose bedroom was the one to your left, away from the street. After two or three sleepless nights though, we learned to sleep through the vibrations and the noise.

    Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, Pastor Sison, quite a change from the past I noticed, the last time I visited Central UMC. For one, the ‘commerce’ presently in front of Central is really an ‘eyesore’. Everything was pleasant, then. ‘Tatay’ really had the ‘fine aesthetics’ of Central Church at it’s maximum. One could hardly see any thing unpleasant around. Well, I guess, like taking care of our body (God’s temple), we also should always be vigilant about the cleanliness and ‘pleasantness’, if I may, of our surroundings. The bad elements will take over if we allow them to continue. I can imagine Jesus raising hell when bad business was going on outside the temple during His tiime. Yes, you are quite correct about the room and kitchen location. The room to my left was my room and was also the room when baby Jun (Pastor John) Manalo was born. It’s good to hear from you, Pastor Ray. Btw, do you remember when you married Lorna and me?, hehe . .

    Anita C. Ilan: …love reading your memoirs,Glenn. I recall your Dad was a Pastor at Good Samaritan UMC in Quezon City, maybe at the time before I left the country.

    Glenn A. Bautista: Thanks, Anita . . and would you believe, after so many years, I am now in touch with my Sunday School teacher at Good Sam, Ems Pizana, via Facebook. Do you remember him?

    Anita C. Ilan: Yes, i also remember Vic Laus, UP-Physics, who was more of my older sister’s contemporary.

    Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, I know Vic . .

    Rodolfo Samonte: You look 16, Bro.

    Maria Antonieta Vasquez: Salazar So young so nostalgic the venerable ghosts of the christmases past.

    Alfredo Roces: You should do more of these photo-recollections until you have a full memoire, Glenn. It would make a nice e-book going from your photo as a child to the present, most recent photo.

    Alan Rivera: Glenn are you talking about “Central Church” along Kalaw near Taft? If so, I remember my grandparents taking me there sometimes for Sunday service. And I was surprised to discover that there was a lot of singing that went with the worship. So unlike the Catholic mass. My grandparents, parents of my mother, were Protestants.God bless their souls.

    Rollei A Ramie: This is how you look the first time I saw you at UST. 1964.

    Cito Cruz: I remember that you designed our high school diploma

    Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, DingR . . I will slowly follow your suggestion. I enjoy doing it, except that sometimes, my memory gets on the way, hehe . .

    Glenn A. Bautista: Yes, AlanR, that’s good to know . . . I am quite familiar with the Kalaw area . . there’s Jai-Alai, Bureau of Lands, (we used to play basketball & voleyball in front, Gestetner, Hilton Hotel, Phil-amLife and Luneta, of course, hehe . . . we were there shortly after the world’s fair was taken down at Luneta . .

    Glenn A. Bautista: Hi Cito, yes, Mr. David Tovera used to commission me to do all the diplomas for high school and college, UHS and PCC, then. I knew those students who would graduate or not, hehe . .

    Ray Sison: Yes, Glenn. I remember when I stood in for your Dad and accompanied you to Lorna’s house to ask for her hand in marriage (namanhikan). btw, did you know that David Tovera was my father-in-law?

    Glenn A. Bautista: Small world, Pastor Ray. Having you as our counselor and officiating pastor made all the difference. As you can see Lorna and I have been together now for 27 years . . warm regards to DavidT, God bless.
    Juan Riingen: Glenn, Take a break and try this: “SkypeLaughter.com”

    Glenn A. Bautista: haha, thanks, Tata Juan . . even fake laughter is good for one’s health . . much more if you watch the videos from your link . .

    Ray Sison: Wow, I didn’t realize its been that long! Happy for you! Papa (David Tovera) passed away in 2005.

Leave a Reply

