A Letter from Gicky


A Letter from Pastor Gicky, Son of an Old Friend

Gines Soriano, a.k.a. “Nestor de Villa

A REALITY CHECK LETTER FROM GICKY SORIANO ~ ~>:) glenn

gicky.jpg

http://lcfchurches.org/

December 24, 2007


Dear Family / Friends,

I’m thinking about Jake Taylor, a baseball catcher playing for the Cleveland Indians in the 1989 film Major League.There was a time when he was one of the best in the game until his knees were shot-out. As the baseball seasons wore on, he earned the league minimum in a team cursed with a 34 year losing streak.Caught in an upscale party one evening, the guests were intrigued with Jake being a professional baseball player and all.Soon, pointed questions were directed at him in regard to his pay scale and performance.It was obvious to everyone that he was down on his luck—another washed up player in the making.Sensing that Jake was nearing the end of his once illustrious career, the dreaded question was put forward by an irritating party host, “What are you going to do when your career ends?I mean you can’t play baseball forever, can you?”Jake responds to the heartless host in an aloof manner.He flashes a grin and replies, “Somethin’ll come up.”

I turned fifty this year.At my age I am sensing a little bit of what Jake is going through.The hard questions regarding my career and future begin to surface as I take inventory of my life.By the 28th of December, Malú and I will have been married for 25 years.The nest is slowly emptying and we are beginning to realize what it means to have only each other.Our journey together has had its ups and downs, spiced with hard turns and pleasant surprises.There were instances when we found ourselves on the verge of throwing in the towel.And moments when we decided to hunker down like desert dwellers in a sandstorm and brave life’s difficulties together.We know what it’s like to be driven to our knees before our Maker in much prayer.Thank God, our knees are not shot-out.Through it all, the Lord has led us to unravel our gifts and talents in significant times of ministry among our people living abroad.

I believe it was Moses who once wrote in the Psalms that we live for seventy years or so—and with a little luck we just might make it to eighty.In fact, he asks the pointed question and gives us its obvious answer, “And what do we have to show for it?Trouble” (Ps 90:10).You can sugarcoat life all you want but when all is said and done the span of our lives will still be littered with toil and trouble.Just when you thought you were out of the woods and in the clear, you are suddenly swamped with more of the same.

This has been a year of extremes for most of us.Uncertainty has plagued the workplace—no job is secure and no business is foolproof.The stock market is in dismal shape.Our dollar has taken a deep dive while the price of oil skyrocketed.The government and the country in general continue to operate and live beyond their means.The rumor of a recession that is running rampant may just become a reality.People feel it in their pockets and at the fuel pumps.The construction industry has hit rock bottom across the nation.The lucrative projects that lured big time investors have been mothballed indefinitely.The housing market has gone bust as massive foreclosures and fire sales prompt a buyers’ market—but no one’s buying.Car dealerships are giving away vehicles below sticker price and retail stores are slashing the cost of their goods.A multitude of unemployed workers suffer the loss of medical coverage and much needed benefits.Even illegal immigrants are self-deporting and heading back south due to a sorry lack of work.The slow economy has caused families to max out their credit cards, drain their bank accounts, and dip into the contingency or college fund to make their monthly payments.I can go on.

Someone once said, extreme times call for extreme measures.In our current situation, extreme times call for an extreme God—a God who is willing to go the distance, a God who will go to the extremes with his people to make his presence felt in our lives.The telltale crisis may be just around the corner but God’s infinite and intimate reach will grip our lives in gracious ways.

Even if the predictions for the coming year appear to be depressingly grim and the dreaded question is put forward, “What are you going to do when the year ends?You can’t change the fearful forecast that threatens us all next year, can you?”I don’t have all the answers, nobody does.No one has the corner on the crystal ball.The Spirit of God is our pillar of cloud that dwells within us, surrounds us, and leads us.And it only lifts up just enough so we can see what is immediately before us.I can’t see anything past today’s troubles.As usual, I haven’t a clue as to what our Lord is up to in our lives.It’s way beyond me.Malú and I are still utterly dependent upon God for our family’s future as we press ahead in faith with His kingdom in our sights.People who know God don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.We can’t pull it off by ourselves, but with Him at the helm the possibilities are endless.Rest assured, “somethin’ll come up!”With that thought in mind, may you treasure your time on earth though it be bumpy or smooth sailing.We are loved and blessed by an extreme God who will provide for all our needs in all seasons.

All our love,

Gicky and Malú Soriano

I grew up in a home with an ever-present loving mother and an all-to-often absentee father. Dad, as some of you know, was a very popular movie and television actor. Nestor de Villa was the original Philippine Idol during the glory days of Filipino films. He was always busy on location making movies that I hardly got the chance to develop a real relationship with him. I didn’t know it at the time but this little boy had a hole in his heart that only a father could fill—and as the years went by that emptiness deepened. I tried as best as I could to fill up that aching void with my father’s approval. I didn’t realize it then but Dad was also caught in the limelight as he continually sought the approval of his many fans and admirers. At the end of the day, he had nothing left to give me. In time I learned to live with that reality and simply consoled myself by saying, “That’s showbiz kid!”

In 1984 a Christian friend heard the cry of my needy heart and pointed out a passage in the Bible: “And because you are children, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave but a child, and if a child then also an heir, through God (Gal 4:6-7).” At that moment something unexplainable happened in inside of me. God sent the Spirit of His Son to fill my empty heart. The indwelling Spirit caused my heart to cry out, “Abba! Father!” Somehow, I clearly understood and believed that I was a long lost son who had finally found the way back to his spiritual roots—I was a child of God! I was no longer a slave who hungered for human approval. I became a son and heir, not through my own effort, but through the grace of God who first sent His Son to die for me, and then sent His Spirit to live in me. That same year I discovered that my Dad surrendered his life to God and also received the Spirit of His Son in his heart. Our long lost father and son relationship was finally mended as the Spirit stitched our hearts together through the love of the Father. My wife along with the rest of the family came to Christ in the succeeding years as the Father ushered us into His heavenly family. I have learned over time that we have a Father who loves us unconditionally and has our best interest at heart. If you are the owner of a broken heart look no further than the love of God in His Son Jesus. The Spirit of Christ can fill the emptiness with an intimacy that you’ve never felt in your life—an intimacy that will cause you to know and love the Father with all your heart. Can you sense the Spirit of God’s Son filling your needy heart and causing you to cry out to Him today?

 

One response to “A Letter from Gicky

  1. – – – – – – – – – – –

    GLENN BAUTISTA to Gines
    show details 9:25 AM (0 minutes ago)

    Reply

    .

    Hi Gicky,

    Great to learn that you are finally here with us in Pinas!

    Yes, better give me a call at this #: 8209670

    Hope you find a photo of me with your Dad. I really doubt that you can find one for I don’t remember any instance where we were photographed together . . he he, good luck anyway.

    Kind regards to the family, especially to your Mom. Take care, bro.

    BTW, here’s a link (you have to find d page) where I featured your recent letter to me about a baseball player . .

    https://glenlorndav.wordpress.com/

    -glenn

    .
    On Tue, Feb 26, 2008 at 7:11 PM, Gines Ricardo Soriano wrote:

    .
    Hi Glenn,

    .
    Just arrived in Manila last Wednesday. It’s so good
    to be home. Thought I’d touch base with you. I’ll be
    checking my Dad’s photo archive in Mom’s storage.
    Will be looking for one with a photo with the both of
    you. Say, would you still have a copy of your Batang
    Pinoy photograph? I’d sure love to have a print with
    the memory that Dad was with you during that take. Do
    call me at 09185253627. It would be good to catch up
    on each others lives. Take care and God bless.

    .

    Gicky

    .

Leave a Reply

