"Rizal" / pen & ink" – 1966

pen-n-inkcomp-big.jpg.

*

The Complete Poems of Jose Rizal – by Glenn A. Bautista – Link to: Complete Poems of Dr. Jose Rizal Monument / pen & ink drawing /92 x 193 cm / 1966 –

rizalpoems.jpg

.

oblationcomp.jpg.

The UP Oblation / pen & ink drawing – 92 x 193 cm / 1965

The UP Oblation, a pen and ink drawing preceded the Complete Poems of Dr. Jose Rizal Monument. Instead of letters or text, I made use of horizontal lines similar to the one we see on television. I made my own pens of different sizes, by cutting the pen’s tip to determine its’ width.

The Rizal Monument pen and ink drawing is composed of the National Hero’s thirty-nine (39) poems and one song,”A Orillas del Pasig“, translation into English by my late friend, Alfredo Veloso. This pre-photoshop pen & ink drawing was critically acclaimed by critics/writers like Alfredo RocesJoe Guevarra and Teodoro Valencia.

The Rizal Pen & Ink Drawing was on exhibit, for about 6 years, at the Jose Rizal Shrine at Fort Santiago upon the request of Ms. Imelda Romualdez Marcos. I had to get it back for restoration. I worked on this pen & ink drawing daily for about two years and was briefly interrupted to rest my eyes upon my father’s request.

He then encouraged me to tour the Philippines for a brief respite, which I did, but just the same I came back with a lot of drawings I did of my travels, especially drawings and pastels I did of Sagada, a place about 7-8 hours from Baguio.

 

 

4 responses to “"Rizal" / pen & ink" – 1966

  1. Pingback: BF Gallery-Studio Renov / BautistaFam Reunion-Sept ’12 | Glenn's CyberArtPages

Leave a Reply

