Ang Batang Pilipino by Glenn

. . I was with Nestor de Villa (Gines Soriano, in real life) shooting scenes around Morong, when i found this little boy standing on a “banka” (small boat) as if meditating about what was to come. This film-song I made is about the plight of the “Filipino Child”, or for that matter, the Filipino children roaming around the streets of most city centers in our country, the Philippines . . especially that of Metro-Manila where the Philippine government’s main offices are located. This is a call for all Filipinos to unite to seriously help, care, and guide these children to become better citizens or even become the future leaders of this nation. The 3-month effort to make the longer version of this video ended in a letdown after my pc crashed. This effort, a make-do film is only to remind me that I tried making a long video in the past, in my small way. Lyrics, rendition, composition, arrangement, guitar, keyboard are all by yours truly. Thanks for bearing with me, and for watching a glimpse of my, what could have been, longer unrecovered film. Dedicated to all Pinoys, mothers, fathers & children Still photos by Nik Ricio, a fellow college mate at the UP School of Fine Arts ‘64, are super-imposed with the afternoon’s video I took of the children playing at the open space across our house in Imus, Cavite, Philippines. The still photos were lifted from Gilda Cordero’s book, “The Streets of Manila”. I thank Gilda and Nikfor allowing me to include some of the children’s images in this short video experiment. Mabuhay and mga “Batang Pinoy”

.
.
I was with Nestor de Villa (Gines Soriano, in real life) shooting scenes around Morong, when i found this little boy standing on a “banka” (small boat) as if meditating about what was to come.
This film-song I made is about the plight of the “Filipino Child”, or for that matter, the Filipino children roaming around the streets of most city centers in our country, the Philippines . . especially that of Metro-Manila where the Philippine government’s main offices are located. This is a call for all Filipinos to unite to seriously help, care, and guide these children to become better citizens or even become the future leaders of this nation.
The 3-month effort to make the longer version of this video ended in a letdown after my pc crashed. This effort, a make-do film is only to remind me that I tried making a long video in the past, in my small way. Lyrics, rendition, composition, arrangement, guitar, keyboard are all by yours truly. Thanks for bearing with me, and for watching a glimpse of my, what could have been, longer unrecovered film. Dedicated to all Pinoys, mothers, fathers & children
Still photos by Nik Ricio, a fellow college mate at the UP School of Fine Arts ‘64, are super-imposed with the afternoon’s video I took of the children playing at the open space across our house in Imus, Cavite, Philippines. The still photos were lifted from Gilda Cordero’s book, “The Streets of Manila”. I thank Gilda and Nikfor allowing me to include some of the children’s images in this short video experiment. Mabuhay and mga “Batang Pinoy”

.

.

. . This film-song I made is about the plight of the “Filipino Child”, or for that matter, the Filipino children roaming around the streets of most city centers in our country, the Philippines . . especially that of Metro-Manila where the Philippine government’s main offices are located. This is a call for all Filipinos to unite to seriously help, care, and guide these children to become better citizens or even become the future leaders of this nation. The 3-month effort to make the longer version of this video ended in a letdown after my pc crashed. This effort, a make-do film is only to remind me that I tried making a long video in the past, in my small way. Lyrics, rendition, composition, arrangement, guitar, keyboard are all by yours truly. Thanks for bearing with me, and for watching a glimpse of my, what could have been, longer unrecovered film. Dedicated to all Pinoys, mothers, fathers & children Still photos by Nik Ricio, a fellow college mate at the UP School of Fine Arts ‘64, are super-imposed with the afternoon’s video I took of the children playing at the open space across our house in Imus, Cavite, Philippines. The still photos were lifted from Gilda Cordero’s book, “The Streets of Manila”. I thank Gilda and Nikfor allowing me to include some of the children’s images in this short video experiment. Mabuhay and mga “Batang Pinoy”

(photo from unknown source from the internet – some years back surfing the net, this photo got my attention simply because I used to sleep with my entire family inside a mosquito net, much like this Filipino family)
.
This film-song I made is about the plight of the Filipino Child, or for that matter, the Filipino children roaming around the streets of most city centers in our country, the Philippines . . especially that of Metro-Manila where the Philippine government’s main offices are located. This is a call for all Filipinos to unite to seriously help, care, and guide these children to become better citizens or even become the future leaders of this nation.
The 3-month effort to make the longer version of this video ended in a letdown after my pc crashed. This effort, a make-do film is only to remind me that I tried making a long video in the past, in my small way. Lyrics, rendition, composition, arrangement, guitar, keyboard are all by yours truly. Thanks for bearing with me, and for watching a glimpse of my, what could have been, longer unrecovered film. Dedicated to all Pinoys, mothers, fathers & children
Still photos by Nik Ricio, a fellow college mate at the UP School of Fine Arts ‘64, are super-imposed with the afternoon’s video I took of the children playing at the open space across our house in Imus, Cavite, Philippines. The still photos were lifted from Gilda Cordero’s book, “The Streets of Manila”. I thank Gilda and Nikfor allowing me to include some of the children’s images in this short video experiment. Mabuhay and mga “Batang Pinoy”

.

.

For more infos about Gilda and Nik:

Gilda Cordero & Nik Ricio 

.

.

Leave a Reply

